Monday, January 18, 2010

2010 Newbery Awards

The John Newbery Medal is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children. Runner-up Honor Books can also be named.

The winner of the 2010 Newbery Medal, announced this morning, is When You Reach Me by Rebecca Stead.

Honor Books:

Claudette Colvin: Twice Towards Justice by Phillip Hoose (also named a Robert F. Sibert honor book - a runner-up for the most distinguished informational book for children, and it was the 2009 National Book Award winner in the category for Young People’s Literature);

The Evolution of Calpurnia Tate by Jacqueline Kelly;
Where the Mountain Meets the Moon by Grace Lin; and
The Mostly True Adventures of Homer P. Figg by Rodman Philbrick.

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...